Growing Celery and Onions FOR FREE

As I was chopping celery this morning for a classroom experiment, I thought I should share this tip: Save the bottom (root) part of the celery that you cut off. Bury an inch down in a pot of soil and in a few weeks you will have celery cutting to use in your cooking!

I freeze the celery tops in a zip lock bag  (more about how I recycle those later–yes, I AM that frugal) and use them to make broth.  When I have bones from meat that has been cooked, I add my stash of celery, some onions and whatever frozen veggies that wouldn’t be used for a side dish and simmer it with a glub of apple cider vinegar.

 

What’s that for, you say?

 

The vinegar helps to leach some of the calcium from the bones and you are left with delicious AND very nutritious broth. The BEST thing you can eat/drink when you are sick.  But I digress….

 

While I was at it, I did the same for an onion so I could post this tip too—cut off the bottom ¼” of the root end of an onion and bury about an inch down in your garden and you will have lovely, if not onions, greens to use in cooking.  I never throw out an onion bottom anymore. And I always have green onions coming up amongst my vegetables AND flowers.

 

I mean, have you SEEN how expensive green onions are in the winter? After that nasty e-coli breakout in imported green onions last winter, I am very happy to grow my own thank you very much!

 

For Free, no less.

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Growing Celery and Onions FOR FREE

  1. thepennypincher

    What a great idea! I don’t buy celery very often, but I will have to try it out.

Leave a Reply

