Thoroughly Thrifty Thursdays

42-16568416

How’s that for a nifty (thrifty) title!

I think it’s a good idea to keep track of what you are doing to get ahead. There are many ways, but here is a little tracking method I learned from Justice Desserts Blog:

Let’s see what I can come up with using her formula:

Planting: I’m putting the 1/4 inch root part of every onion I cut for cooking back into the garden for future onions (yes it works!) Also, planting the eyes off every potato I cut up for cooking back into the garden. Yes! They will make FREE potatoes.  I jog out there, making it a little exercise routine as well.

 Harvesting: swiss chard, green onions, cabbage, rhubarb, ground cherries,

Preserving:ground cherries, hickory nuts from the woods

Prep something: Cooking sale turkeys and putting the extra meat in the freezer for future quick casserole dinners after long days at school.

Manage Reserves: Going through what is left of last year’s canning extravaganza to see what needs to be eaten up. Rotation, rotation, rotation!

 

Saw this on another frugal blog:

Office Depot has a 15% off your entire order code. Valid through Nov. 22, 2008 on-line and over the phone. Enter code 19574436.

You may also enter code 32776683 (on-line only) if you are spending $100 or more to receive a free Coby CD Radio Boombox.

2 Comments

Filed under cheap, classroom, frugal living, Frugality, personal finance, teacher, teaching, tightwad, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Thoroughly Thrifty Thursdays

  1. I love your thrifty ideas for gardening! I am now growing my onions and celery myself from the 1/4″ roots that I cut off and normally throw away!
    Thank You!

  2. prudentclassroom

    I was just snooping in the garden this weekend and found some onions I’d tucked away about a month ago, I think and came away with enough for a fried rice recipe I was making. While I was there, I tucked in the potato peelings I had from the big Thanksgiving feast. I mulch heavily so by spring they will have a jump on the rest of my potato crop.

Leave a Reply

